[DL] E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2018: call for nominations

Ian Pratt-Hartmann ian.pratt at manchester.ac.uk
Mon Feb 12 18:04:10 CET 2018

Ladies and gentlemen,

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information, 
http://www.folli.info) has awarded the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to 
outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and 
Information. We invite submissions for the best dissertation which 
resulted in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2017.

Who qualifies.

Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree 
in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st, 
2017 and December 31st, 2017. Theses must be written in English; 
however, the Committee accepts submissions of English translations of 
theses originally written in other languages, and for which a PhD was 
awarded in the preceding two years (i.e. between January 1st, 2015 and 
December 31st, 2017). There is no restriction on the nationality of the 
candidate or on the university where the Ph.D. was granted.


The prize consists of:
-a certificate
-a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation
-an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of
  it) to the FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and
  Information (Springer).

How to submit

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are 

     The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted).
     A ten-page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format.
     A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor
       (see below).
     Two additional letters of support, including at least one
       from a referee not affiliated with the academic
       institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by 
the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely 
describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state when 
the degree was officially awarded. Nominations should contain the email 
contact details of the nominator.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip 
file) to Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt at cs.man.ac.uk). Hard copy submissions 
are not allowed. In case of any problems with the email submission or a 
lack of notification within three working days, nominators should write 
to Ian Pratt-Hartmann.

The prize will be awarded at the ESSLLI summer school in Sofia. The 
current (tentative) date for the presentation ceremony is August 17th, 

Queries: Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt at cs.man.ac.uk)

Important dates:

Deadline for Submissions: April 23rd, 2018.
Notification of Decision: July 2nd, 2018.
ESSLLI summer school (Sofia): August 6th--17th, 2018.


Emmanuel Chemla (ENS, CNRS)
Andrew Fish (University of Brighton)
Sujata Ghosh (Indian Statistical Institute, Chennai)
Nina Gierasimczuk (Technical University of Denmark Copenhagen)
Wesley Holliday (University of California, Berkeley)
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
Andreas Maletti (Leipzig University)
Angelo Montanari (University of Udine)
Sanjian Li (University of Technology Sydney)
Larry Moss (Indiana University, Bloomington)
Ian Pratt-Hartmann, Chair (University of Manchester)

More information about the dl mailing list