[DL] E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2017: final call for nominations

Ian Pratt-Hartmann ian.pratt at manchester.ac.uk
Thu Apr 6 11:12:21 CEST 2017

E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2017: call for nominations

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information, 
http://www.folli.info) has awarded the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to 
outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and 
Information. We invite submissions for the best dissertation which 
resulted in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2016.

Who qualifies.

Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree 
in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st, 
2016 and December 31st, 2016. Theses must be written in English; 
however, the Committee accepts submissions of English translations of 
theses originally written in other languages, and for which a PhD was 
awarded in the preceding two years (i.e. between January 1st, 2014 and 
December 31st, 2015). There is no restriction on the nationality of the 
candidate or on the university where the Ph.D. was granted.


The prize consists of:
-a certificate
-a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation
-an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of
  it) to the FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and
  Information (Springer).

How to submit

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are 

     The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted).
     A ten-page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format.
     A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor
       (see below).
     Two additional letters of support, including at least one
       from a referee not affiliated with the academic
       institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by 
the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely 
describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state when 
the degree was officially awarded. Nominations should contain the email 
contact details of the nominator.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip 
file) to Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt at cs.man.ac.uk). Hard copy submissions 
are not allowed. In case of any problems with the email submission or a 
lack of notification within three working days, nominators should write 
to Ian Pratt-Hartmann.

The prize will be awarded at the ESSLLI summer school in Toulouse. The 
current (tentative) date for the presentation ceremony is July 26th, 2017.

Queries: Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt at cs.man.ac.uk)

Important dates:

Deadline for Submissions: April 21st, 2017.
Notification of Decision: June 19th, 2017.
ESSLLI summer school: July 17th--28th, 2017.


Raffaella Bernardi (University of Trento)
Julian Bradfield (University of Edinburgh)
Ernie Davis (New York University)
Sujata Ghosh (Indian Statistical Institute, Chennai)
Nina Gierasimczuk (Technical University of Denmark, Copenhagen)
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
Carsten Lutz (University of Bremen)
Andreas Maletti (Leipzig University)
Sanjian Li (University of Technology Sydney)
Larry Moss (Indiana University Bloomington)
Ian Pratt-Hartmann (University of Manchester)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary University of London)
Yoad Winter (Utrecht University)

More information about the dl mailing list