[DL] ICLA 2017 Call for Papers

Geoff Sutcliffe geoff at cs.miami.edu
Tue Aug 2 15:30:22 CEST 2016

                ------ CALL FOR PAPERS for ICLA 2017 -------

                                January 5-7, 2017
                                 IIT Kanpur, India

                                CALL FOR PAPERS

ALI, the Association for Logic in India, announces the seventh edition of
its biennial International Conference on Logic and its Applications (ICLA), 
to be held at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur,  from January 5 
to 7, 2017. ICLA 2017 will be co-located with the Methods for Modalities 
Workshop to be held during January 8-10, 2017.

ICLA is a forum for bringing together researchers from a wide variety of
fields in which formal logic plays a significant role, along with
mathematicians, computer scientists, philosophers and logicians studying 
foundations of formal logic in itself. A special feature of this conference 
is the inclusion of studies in systems of logic in the Indian tradition, 
and historical research on logic. Details of the last ICLA (2015) may be 
found at https://www.cse.iitb.ac.in/~icla15/.

The earlier events in this series featured many eminent logicians as invited 
speakers, and we are pleased to announce that this year's speakers will 

Nicholas Asher, IRIT Toulouse
Natasha Dobrinen, University of Denver
Luke Ong, University of Oxford (to be confirmed)
Richard Zach, University of Calgary

Authors are invited to submit papers presenting original and unpublished 
research in any area of logic and applications.  Articles on mathematical 
and philosophical logic, computer science logic, foundations and philosophy 
of mathematics and the sciences, use of formal logic in areas of theoretical 
computer science and artificial intelligence, logic and linguistics, history 
of logic, Indian systems of logic, or on the relationship between logic and 
other branches of knowledge, are welcome.

Submissions must be in English and should provide sufficient detail to allow 
the programme committee to assess the merits of the paper. The submission 
may not exceed 12 pages in Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes LaTeX2e style 
(Springer's Information for LNCS Authors: 
If necessary, detailed proofs of technical results can be included in a
clearly marked appendix which may be read at the discretion of the programme 
committee. The submission must be a PDF file.

Authors who use Microsoft Word to prepare their submissions should typeset
them in 11-pt Times New Roman, with single-line spacing, centered, and with 
margins on all four sides that are at least 4cm wide. The manuscript should 
not exceed 12 pages. Springer's Information for LNCS Authors page (mentioned 
above) contains appropriate templates. The Word document must be exported to 
PDF before being submitted.

All submissions will be in electronic form and submitted via the easychair
conference management system. Simultaneous submission to journals or to other
conferences with proceedings is not allowed. Submitted papers will be peer-
reviewed and accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, 
which will be made available at the time of the conference. The conference 
proceedings will appear as a volume in the Springer FoLLI-LNCS series. For 
an accepted paper to be included in the proceedings, one of the authors must 
commit to presenting the paper at the conference.

Important Dates
Deadline for Submission:                               2 September 2016
Notification to Authors:                                 8 October 2016
Deadline for camera-ready papers:                       17 October 2016
Deadline for early-bird registration:                  30 November 2016

Important Links

Programme Committee
Natasha Alechina (University of Nottingham)
Maria Aloni (University of Amsterdam)
Steve Awodey (Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh)
Mohua Banerjee (IIT Kanpur)
Patricia Blanchette (University of Notre Dame)
Maria-Paola Bonacina (Universita degli Studi di Verona)
Lopamudra Choudhury (Jadavpur University, Kolkata)
Agata Ciabattoni (TU Wien)
Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge)
Hans van Ditmarsch (LORIA, Nancy)
Sujata Ghosh (ISI Chennai) Co-chair
Brendan Gillon (McGill University, Montreal)
Roman Kossak (City University of New York)
S Krishna (IIT Bombay)
Benedikt Loewe (University of Hamburg, University of Amsterdam)
Gopalan Nadathur (University of Minnesota)
Satyadev Nandakumar (IIT Kanpur)
Alessandra Palmigiano (TU Delft)
Prakash Panangaden (McGill University, Montreal)
Sanjiva Prasad (IIT Delhi) Co-chair
R Ramanujam (IMSc, Chennai)
Christian Retore (University of Montpellier)
Sunil Simon (IIT Kanpur)
Isidora Stojanovic (Jean Nicod Institute, Paris)
S.P. Suresh (CMI, Chennai)
Rineke Verbrugge (University of Groningen)
Yanjing Wang (Peking University)

Any queries related to the conference may be sent to the following email
address: icla2017.iitk at gmail.com

More information about the dl mailing list