[DL] WoLLIC 2012 - Call for Papers

Ruy de Queiroz ruy at cin.ufpe.br
Sat Oct 22 20:27:31 CEST 2011

[please post. apologies for multiple copies]

*WoLLIC 2012
19th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation *
*September 3rd to 6th, 2012

*University of Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Argentina*

*Scientific Sponsorship*
*Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL<http://www.cin.ufpe.br/~igpl/>
*The Association for Logic, Language and Information
*Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL <http://www.aslonline.org/>)*
*European Association for Theoretical Computer Science
*European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL<http://www.eacsl.org/>
*Sociedade Brasileira de Computação (SBC <http://www.sbc.org.br/>)*
*Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL <http://www.cle.unicamp.br/sbl/>)*

*The event is part of the alliance for 2012 The Alan Turing

*Departamento de Computación <http://www.dc.uba.ar/>, Universidad de Buenos
Aires <http://www.uba.ar/>, Argentina
Centro de Informática <http://www.cin.ufpe.br/>, Universidade Federal de
Pernambuco <http://www.ufpe.br/>, Brazil *

Call for PapersWoLLIC <http://wollic.org/> is an annual international forum
on inter-disciplinary research involving formal logic, computing and
programming theory, and natural language and reasoning. Each meeting
includes invited talks and tutorials as well as contributed papers. The
nineteenth WoLLIC will be held at the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina,
from September 3rd to 6th, 2012. It is sponsored by the Association for
Symbolic Logic <http://www.aslonline.org/> (ASL), theInterest Group in Pure
and Applied Logics <http://www.cin.ufpe.br/~igpl> (IGPL), the The
Association for Logic, Language and Information
<http://www.folli.org/> (FoLLI),
the European Association for Theoretical Computer
Science<http://www.eatcs.org/> (EATCS),
the European Association for Computer Science Logic
<http://www.eacsl.org/> (EACSL),
the Sociedade Brasileira de Computação <http://www.sbc.org.br/> (SBC), and
the Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica <http://www.cle.unicamp.br/sbl/> (SBL).

*Paper submission*
Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular
interest in cross-disciplinary topics. Typical but not exclusive areas of
interest are: foundations of computing and programming; novel computation
models and paradigms; broad notions of proof and belief; formal methods in
software and hardware development; logical approach to natural language and
reasoning; logics of programs, actions and resources; foundational aspects
of information organization, search, flow, sharing, and protection. Proposed
contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly exposition
accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation, background, and
comparison with related works. They must not exceed 10 pages (in font 10 or
higher), with up to 5 additional pages for references and technical
appendices. The paper's main results must not be published or submitted for
publication in refereed venues, including journals and other scientific
meetings. It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the
meeting by one of its authors. Papers must be submitted electronically at
the WoLLIC 2012 EasyChair website. (Please go to
http://wollic.org/wollic2012/instructions.html for instructions.) A title
and single-paragraph abstract should be submitted by April 27th, and the
full paper by May 4th (firm date). Notifications are expected by June 8th,
and final papers for the proceedings will be due by June 15th (firm date).

The proceedings of WoLLIC 2012, including both invited and contributed
papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in
Springer's LNCS <http://www.springer.com/lncs> series. In addition,
abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of the *Logic
Journal of the IGPL*, and selected contributions will be published as a
special post-conference WoLLIC 2012 issue of a scientific journal (to be

*Invited Speakers*


*Student Grants*
ASL sponsorship of WoLLIC 2012 will permit ASL student members to apply for
a modest travel grant (deadline: June 1st, 2012). See
http://www.aslonline.org/studenttravelawards.html for details.

*Important Dates*

   *April 27th 2012*: Paper title and abstract deadline
   *May 4th, 2012*: Full paper deadline (firm)
   June 8th, 2012: Author notification
   June 15th, 2012: Final version deadline (firm)

*Programme Committee*

   Carlos Areces <http://www.loria.fr/~areces/> (Cordoba)
   Marcelo Arenas <http://web.ing.puc.cl/~marenas/> (Santiago)
   Steve Awodey <http://www.andrew.cmu.edu/user/awodey/> (Pittsburgh)
   Verónica Becher <http://www-2.dc.uba.ar/profesores/becher/> (Buenos
   Patrick Blackburn <http://www.patrickblackburn.org/> (Roskilde)
   Maribel Fernandez <http://www.dcs.kcl.ac.uk/staff/maribel/> (London)
   Santiago Figueira <http://www.glyc.dc.uba.ar/santiago/> (Buenos Aires)
   Marcelo Finger <http://www.ime.usp.br/~mfinger> (São Paulo)
   Marcelo Fiore <http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~mpf23/> (Cambridge)
   Yuxi Fu <http://basics.sjtu.edu.cn/~yuxi/> (Shanghai)
   Rosalie Iemhoff <http://www.phil.uu.nl/~iemhoff/> (Utrecht)
   Neil Immerman <http://www.cs.umass.edu/~immerman/> (Amherst)
   Jean-Pierre Jouannaud <http://www.lix.polytechnique.fr/~jouannaud/>
   Makoto Kanazawa <http://research.nii.ac.jp/~kanazawa/> (Tokyo)
   Delia Kesner <http://www.pps.jussieu.fr/~kesner/> (Paris)
   Dexter Kozen <http://www.cs.cornell.edu/~kozen/> (Ithaca)
   Martin Lange <http://www.uni-kassel.de/~mlange/> (Kassel)
   Benedikt Löwe <http://www.math.uni-hamburg.de/home/loewe/> (Amsterdam)
   Dag Normann <http://folk.uio.no/dnormann/> (Oslo)
   Luke Ong <http://www.comlab.ox.ac.uk/luke.ong/> (Oxford) (CHAIR)
   Erik Palmgren <http://www2.math.uu.se/staff/pages/?uname=palmgren>
   Sylvain Salvati <http://www.labri.fr/perso/salvati/> (Bordeaux)
   Pierre Schnoebelen <http://www.lsv.ens-cachan.fr/~phs/> (Cachan)
   Fernando Souza <http://www.dmat.ufpe.br/~fsouza/> (Recife)
   Kazushige Terui <http://www.kurims.kyoto-u.ac.jp/~terui/> (Kyoto)

*Steering Committee*

   Samson Abramksy, Johan van Benthem, Anuj Dawar, Joe Halpern, Wilfrid
   Hodges, Daniel Leivant, Angus Macintyre, Grigori Mints, Hiroakira Ono, Ruy
   de Queiroz.

*Organising Committee*

   Carlos Areces <http://www.loria.fr/~areces/> (U Nacional Cordoba)
   (co-chair) (Local co-chair)
   Santiago Figueira <http://www.glyc.dc.uba.ar/santiago/> (U Buenos Aires)
   (Local co-chair)
   Anjolina G. de Oliveira <http://www.cin.ufpe.br/~ago> (U Fed Pernambuco)
   Ruy de Queiroz <http://www.cin.ufpe.br/~ruy> (U Fed Pernambuco)

*Further information*
Contact one of the Co-Chairs of the Organising Committee.

*Web page*
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://mailman.informatik.uni-bremen.de/pipermail/dl/attachments/20111022/8692b116/attachment.html>

More information about the dl mailing list