[DL] E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2010 call for nominations

Richard Moot Richard.Moot at labri.fr
Mon Mar 22 18:21:35 CET 2010

[ Please redistribute. Apologies for multiple postings. ]

E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2010 call for nominations

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information,
http://www.folli.org) awards the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to  
dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and Information. We  
submissions for the best dissertation which resulted in a Ph.D. degree  
in the
year 2009. The dissertations will be judged on technical depth and  
originality, and impact made in at least two of three fields of Logic,
Language, and Computation. Interdisciplinarity is an important feature  
the theses competing for the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize.

Who qualifies.

Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree  
the areas  of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st,  
2009 and
December 31st, 2009. There is no restriction on the nationality of the  
or the university where the Ph.D. was granted. After a careful  
FoLLI has decided to accept only dissertations written in English.  
produced in 2009 but not written in English or not translated will be  
for submission, after translation, also with the call next year (for  
The present call for nominations for the E.W. Beth Dissertation Award  
2010 will
also accept nominations of full English translations of theses  
written in another language than English and defended in 2008 or 2009.


The prize consists of:

-a certificate

-a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation

-an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of it) to  
the FoLLI
Publications on Logic, Language and Information (Springer). For further
information on this series see the FoLLI site.

How to submit.

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are  

1. The thesis in pdf or ps format (doc/rtf not accepted);

2. A ten page abstract of the dissertation in ascii or pdf format;

3. A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor. Self-nominations  
are not
admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis supervisor.  
The letter
of nomination should concisely describe the scope and significance of  
dissertation and state when the degree was officially awarded;

4. Two additional letters of support, including at least one letter  
from a
referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the  

All documents must be submitted electronically to buszko at amu.edu.pl.  
Hard copy
submissions are not admitted. In case of any problems with the email  
or a lack of notification within three working days, nominators should  
write to
buszko at amu.edu.pl.

Important dates:

Deadline for Submissions: April 30, 2010.
Notification of Decision: July 20, 2010.

Committee :

Natasha Alechina (Nottingham)
Lev Beklemishev (Moscow)
Wojciech Buszkowski (chair) (Poznan)
Didier Caucal (IGM-CNRS)
Nissim Francez (Haifa)
Alexander Koller (Saarbruecken)
Alberto Policriti (Udine)
Ian Pratt-Hartmann (Manchester)
Rob van der Sandt (Nijmegen)
Colin Stirling (Edinburgh)
Rineke Verbrugge (Groningen)
Heinrich Wansing (Dresden)

More information about the dl mailing list