[DL] 2nd CFP: 6th workshop on "Methods for Modalities" (M4M-6)

Thomas Bolander tb at imm.dtu.dk
Mon May 25 14:46:18 CEST 2009

                    SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS
       6th Workshop on "Methods for Modalities" (M4M-6)
                     Copenhagen, Denmark
                     November 12-14, 2009

The workshop "Methods for Modalities" (M4M) aims to bring together
researchers interested in developing algorithms, verification methods
and tools based on modal logics. Here the term "modal logics" is
conceived broadly, including temporal logic, description logic,
guarded fragments, conditional logic, temporal and hybrid logic, etc.

To stimulate interaction and transfer of expertise, M4M will feature
a number of invited talks by leading scientists, research
presentations aimed at highlighting new developments, and submissions
of system demonstrations.

We strongly encourage young researchers and students to submit papers,
especially for experimental and prototypical software tools which are
related to modal logics.

More information about the previous editions can be found at


M4M-6 will be preceded by a two-day mini-course aimed at preparing
PhD students and other researchers for participation in the workshop.
The mini-course is associated with the FIRST research school

Paper Submissions
Authors are invited to submit papers in the following three categories.

- Regular papers up to 15 pages, describing original research.

- System descriptions of up to 12 pages, describing new systems or
significant upgrades of existing ones.

- Presentation-only papers, describing work recently published or
submitted (no page limit). These will not be included in the
proceedings, but pre-prints or post-prints can be made available to

Submissions should be made via EasyChair at the following address:


Final versions of accepted papers will be published online in a volume
of Elsevier Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science (ENTCS).
A preliminary version of the proceedings will also be available at the

Invited speakers
   To be announced. 

Important dates
   Deadline for submissions: August 24, 2009
   Notification: October 5, 2009
   Camera ready versions: October 26, 2009
   Workshop dates: November 12-14, 2009

Program Committee
   Carlos Areces, INRIA Lorraine
   Lars Birkedal, IT University of Copenhagen
   Patrick Blackburn, INRIA Lorraine
   Thomas Bolander (co-chair), Technical University of Denmark
   Julian Bradfield, University of Edinburgh
   Torben Braüner (co-chair), Roskilde University
   Balder ten Cate, University of Amsterdam
   Stephane Demri, ENS de Cachan
   Hans van Ditmarsch, University of Otago
   Melvin Fitting, City University of New York
   John Gallagher, Roskilde University
   Mai Gehrke, Radboud University Nijmegen
   Silvio Ghilardi, University of Milano
   Valentin Goranko, University of the Witwatersrand
   Rajeev Goré, ANU
   Michael R. Hansen, Technical University of Denmark
   Andreas Herzig, IRIT
   Wiebe van der Hoek, University of Liverpool
   Martin Lange, LMU München
   Carsten Lutz, Dresden University of Technology
   Angelo Montanari, University of Udine
   Valeria de Paiva, Cuill Inc.
   Renate Schmidt, University of Manchester
   Thomas Schneider, University of Manchester
   Carsten Schürmann, IT University of Copenhagen
   Gert Smolka, Saarland University
   Anders Søgaard, University of Copenhagen
   Jørgen Villadsen, Technical University of Denmark
   Frank Wolter, University of Liverpool
   Thomas Ågotnes, Bergen University College

More information about the dl mailing list