[DL] CFP: AOW2007 at AI'07

Tommie Meyer tommie.meyer at meraka.org.za
Fri Aug 24 16:23:53 CEST 2007

Apologies for cross-posting

The Australasian Ontology Workshop (AOW2007)
Held in Conjunction with the 20th Australian Joint Conference on
Artificial Intelligence (AI'07); 2nd-6th December 2007;
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.

Advances in Ontologies:

The use of formal ontologies in knowledge systems has many  
advantages. It allows for an unambiguous specification of the  
structure of knowledge in a domain, enables knowledge sharing and, as  
a result, makes it possible to perform automated reasoning about  
ontologies. In recent years there has been a worldwide increase in  
the use of ontologies, both in industry and in research laboratories.  
There is a growing community of researchers in Australia and New  
Zealand working on various aspects of ontologies. The primary aim of  
this workshop is to bring together ontology researchers in the region.

Workshop website:

AI'07 Conference website:


The workshop seeks submission of papers on original and unpublished  
research on all aspects of ontology research, including, but not  
limited to
* ontology models and theories,
* ontologies and the semantic web;
* interoperability in ontologies;
* multi-agent systems and ontologies;
* description logics for ontologies;
* reasoning with ontologies;
* ontology harvesting on the web;
* ontology of agents and actions;
* ontology visualisation;
* ontology engineering and management;
* ontology-based information extraction and retrieval
* ontology merging, alignment and integration;
* web ontology languages;
* formal concept analysis and ontologies.

Paper Submission:

An electronic copy in PDF format in English should be submitted at  
the workshop easychair site (http://www.easychair.org/AOW2007) by 21  
September 2007 with detailed information of the author(s). Authors  
will be notified of acceptance by October 19, 2007. Camera-ready  
papers will be due on  November 09 2007. At least one author of every  
accepted paper is required to register for the workshop.

Full papers should be a maximum of 10 pages in length in double  
column format as per submission instructions on the CRPIT Authors  
Page (see below). The Proceedings of AOW2005 and AOW2006 were  
published by the Australian Computer Society as volumes 58 and 72 of  
the Conferences in Research and Practice in Information Technology  
(CRPIT) series. The proceedings of AOW2007 will be published as  
Volume 85, ISBN 1-920-68266-X, ISSN 1445-1336, in the CRPIT Series.  
The formatting requirements and resources for authors can be found on  
the CRPIT Authors Page (http://crpit.com/Authors.html).

Important Dates:

Full paper submission due: 21 September 2007

Notification of acceptance: 19 October 2007

Camera-ready copy due: 09 November 2007

The authors of selected papers from the AOW-06 were invited to submit  
longer, extended versions of their papers to a Special Issue on  
Advances in Ontologies of Expert Systems: The Journal of Knowledge  
Engineering published by Blackwells. We anticipate that selected  
papers from AOW2007 will also appear in a special  issue of an  
appropriate journal.

For any enquiries, send email to AOW2007 at easychair.org.

Workshop Organisers:

Thomas Meyer (Meraka Institute, South Africa)
Abhaya Nayak (Macquarie University, Australia)

Program Committee:

Thomas Meyer (Meraka Institute, South Africa) (co-chair)
Abhaya Nayak (Macquarie University, Australia) (co-chair)

Jane Hunter (University of Queensland, Australia) (keynote speaker)

Mike Bain (UNSW, Australia)
Richard Booth (Mahasarakham University, Thailand)
Werner Ceusters (SUNY Buffalo, USA)
Anne Cregan (UNSW, Australia)
Attila Elçi (Eastern Mediterranean University, Turkey)
Joerg Evermann (Victoria University Wellington, New Zealand)
Aurona Gerber (Meraka Institute, South Africa)
Manolis Gergatsoulis (Ionian University, Greece)
Dennis Hooijmaijers (University of South Australia, Australia)
Renato Iannella (NICTA, Australia)
Laurent Lefort (CSIRO, Australia)
Costas Mantratzis (University of Westminster, UK)
Lars Mönch (University of Hagen, Germany)
Deshendran Moodley (University of KwaZulu Natal, South Africa)
Bo Hu (University of Southampton, UK)
Mehmet Orgun (Macquarie University, Australia)
Bhavna Orgun (Macquarie University, Australia)
Maurice Pagnucco (UNSW, Australia)
Anet Potgieter (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
Debbie Richards (Macquarie University, Australia)
Rolf Schwitter (Macquarie University, Australia)
Barry Smith (SUNY Buffalo, USA)
Markus Stumptner (University of South Australia, Australia)
York Sure (SAP Research, Germany)
Kerry Taylor (CSIRO, Australia)
Mary-Anne Williams (UTS, Australia)

More information about the dl mailing list