[DL] CFP: International Workshop on Hybrid Logic 2006 (HyLo 2006)

Joergen Villadsen jv at ruc.dk
Thu Mar 30 19:06:08 CEST 2006

                       SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS 
      International Workshop on Hybrid Logic 2006 (HyLo 2006)
                      Affiliated with LICS 2006 
                   August 11, 2006, Seattle, USA


Hybrid logic is a branch of modal logic in which it is possible to
directly refer to worlds/times/states or whatever the elements of
the (Kripke) model are meant to represent. Although they date back
to the late 1960s, and have been sporadically investigated ever
since, it is only in the 1990s that work on them really got into 
its stride.

It is easy to justify interest in hybrid logic on applied grounds,
because of the usefulness of the additional expressive power.
For example, when reasoning about time one often wants to build 
up a series of assertions about what happens at a particular 
instant,and standard modal formalisms do not allow this. What is 
less obvious is that the route hybrid logic takes to overcome 
this problem (the basic mechanism being to add nominals --- 
atomic symbols true at a unique point --- together with extra 
modalities to exploit them) often actually improves the behavior 
of the underlying modal formalism. For example, it becomes far 
simpler to formulate modal tableau, resolution, and natural 
deduction in hybrid logic, and completeness and interpolation 
results can be proved of a generality that is not available in 
orthodox modal logic.

Hybrid logic is now a mature field, therefore a theme of special
interest at this HyLo workshop will be the combination of hybrid
logic with other logics, the basic methodological question being
"what is the best way of hybridizing a given logic?" However,
submissions in all areas of hybrid logic are welcome.

The workshop HyLo 2006 is likely to be relevant to a wide range of
people, including those interested in description logic, feature 
logic, applied modal logics, temporal logic, and labelled 
deduction. The workshop continues a series of previous workshops 
on hybrid logic, for example the LICS-affiliated HyLo 2002 
(http://floc02.diku.dk/HYLO) which was held as part of FLoC 2002, 
Copenhagen, Denmark. If you are unsure whether your work is of 
relevance to the workshop, please do not hesitate to contact the 
workshop organizers for more information. Contact details are 
given below.

For more general background on hybrid logic, and many of the key
papers, see the Hybrid Logics homepage (http://hylo.loria.fr/).


Patrick Blackburn (INRIA Lorraine, France)
Valeria de Paiva (PARC, USA)
Ian Horrocks (University of Manchester, UK) 


Carlos Areces (INRIA Lorraine, France)
Patrick Blackburn (INRIA Lorraine, France)
Thomas Bolander (Technical University of Denmark)
Torben Braüner (Roskilde University, Denmark) --- Chair
Valeria de Paiva (PARC, USA)
Melvin Fitting (Lehman College, New York, USA)
Balder ten Cate (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Jørgen Villadsen (Roskilde University, Denmark)


We invite the contribution of papers reporting new work from 
researchers interested in hybrid logic. The revised version of 
accepted papers will be published online in an Elsevier 
ENTCS (http://www.elsevier.com/locate/entcs/) volume devoted to 
FLoC 2006 satellite workshops. A preliminary version of the 
proceedings will also be distributed at the workshop. One author 
for each accepted paper must attend the workshop in order to 
present the paper. 

Please use the HyLo 2006 submission page 
(http://www.easychair.org/HyLo2006/), handled by the EasyChair 
conference system, to submit papers. Papers should not exceed 
15 pages including references. Authors are strongly encouraged 
to prepare their submissions according to the ENTCS guidelines 


Deadline for submissions: May 26, 2006
Notification of acceptance: June 23, 2006
Deadline for final versions: July 21, 2006


See the workshop homepage (http://hylomol.ruc.dk/HyLo2006) for
further information. Please send all correspondence regarding the
workshop to the organizers:
Patrick Blackburn

Thomas Bolander

Torben Braüner --- Chair

Valeria de Paiva

Jørgen Villadsen

More information about the dl mailing list