[DL] ASIAN'05 Call for Papers

Victor Vianu vianu at cs.ucsd.edu
Thu Apr 21 21:12:45 CEST 2005

** Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this announcement **

                   FIRST CALL FOR PAPERS

            Tenth Asian Computing Science Conference
                   Data Management on the Web

                            Kunming, China

                           Yunan University

                        December 7-9, 2005


The series of annual Asian Computing Science Conferences (ASIAN) was 
initiated in
1995 by AIT, INRIA and UNU/IIST to provide a forum for researchers in 
computer science
from the Asian region and to promote interaction with researchers from 
other regions.
The first nine conferences have been held respectively in Bangkok, 
Singapore, Katmandu,
Manila, Phuket, Penang, Hanoi, Mumbai and Chiang Mai.  ASIAN 2005 will 
take place
in Kunming, China, December 7-9.  Each year, the conference focuses on a 
different theme
at the cutting edge of computer science research. The theme of ASIAN 2005
will be data management on the Web.

Keynote speakers

Richard Hull (Bell Laboratories, Lucent)
Tova Milo (Tel Aviv University)
Prabhakar Raghavan (Verity and Stanford)

There will likely be additional invited talks and tutorials.

Call for papers

ASIAN 2005 seeks original papers describing research on theoretical or 
practical aspects
of data management on the Web. Papers should not have been published or 
be in submission
at another conference or journal. Topics of interest include but are not 
limited to:

        Semistructured data
        Data integration and provenance
        Data mining on the Web
        Search and information retrieval on the Web
        Security, Privacy and E-Commerce
        Semantic Web
        XML and Web Services
        Collaborative computing
        Peer-to-peer data management
        Data streams and publish-subscribe systems
        Web-based applications

Important Dates
Paper submission deadline: July 6, 2005
Acceptance notification: August 19, 2005
Camera-ready paper due: September 15, 2005

Submissions are limited to 10 pages (excluding references, font size at 
least 11 pts).
Each submission must provide sufficient detail to
allow the program committee to assess its merits and should include 
references to and comparisons with the literature. It is recommended 
that each
submission begins with a succinct statement of the problem, a summary of 
the main results,
and a brief explanation of their significance and relevance to the topic 
of the conference,
all suited for the non-specialist. Technical development of the work, 
directed to the specialist,
should follow. If the authors believe more details are necessary to 
substantiate the main claims
of the paper, they may include a clearly marked appendix to be read at 
the discretion of the committee.
Only electronic submissions are accepted. Instructions for (electronic) 
will be posted on ASIAN's home page.

The proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series.
Please prepare your manuscript using the series' style, following
the instructions at http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html
The proceedings papers will be limited to 15 pages.

Conference Organization

Steering Committee:

Stephane Grumbach (INRIA, France)
Joxan Jaffar (NUS, Singapore)
Gilles Kahn (INRIA, France)
Kanchana Kanchanasut (AIT, Thailand)
R.K. Shyamasundar (TIFR, India)
Kazunori Ueda (Waseda U., Japan)

General Chair: Stephane Grumbach, INRIA
Program Chair: Victor Vianu, UC San Diego
Local Organization Chair: Yao Shaowen, Yunnan University

Program Committee:

Alin Deutsch (UC San Diego)
AnHai Doan (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Wenfei Fan (University of Edinburgh/Bell Labs)
Mong-Li Lee (National University of Singapore)
Maurizio Lenzerini (University of Rome "La Sapienza")
Tova Milo (Tel Aviv University)
Riichiro Mizoguchi (Osaka Univ)
Frank Neven (Limburg University)
Krithi Ramamritham (IIT Bombay)
Luc Segoufin  (INRIA-Futurs)
Jerome Simeon (IBM Yorktown Heights)
Jayavel Shanmugasundaram (Cornell University)
Yao Shaowen (Yunnan University)
Kyuseok Shim (Seoul National University)
Jianwen Su (U.C. Santa Barbara)
Dan Suciu  (University of Washington)
Victor Vianu (UC San Diego, PC Chair)
Meng Xiaofeng (Renmin University)
Masatoshi Yoshikawa (Nagoya University)
Zheng Zhang (Microsoft Research China)

More information about the dl mailing list